Ding Darling awards scholarships for environmental studies

At a special gathering at J.N. “Ding” Darling National Wildlife Refuge on May 12 “Ding” Darling Wildlife Society-Friends of the Refuge (DDWS) awarded $11,500 in conservation education scholarships to 11 students out of nearly 40 applicants from the surrounding five-county area.

Scholarships were awarded to Brooke Giuliano, Ramsey Fisher, Nicole Cohen, Calyn Lee, Zoe Skrivan and Jena Martino.

The Four Tarpon Bay Explorers (TBE) Scholarship recipients include Dylan Humenay, Christopher McGill, Layne Marshall, and Andrew H. Stoquert. The Jane Werner Environmental Scholarship, DDWS’ first permanent endowed scholarship, went to Jessica Bergau.

DDWS will also be awarding scholarships at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. High school seniors and college students living in Lee, Collier, Charlotte, Glades, and Hardy counties and pursuing careers in biology and environmental studies are eligible. Information: (239) 292-0566 or www.dingdarlingsociety.org.

© 2013 gonaples.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Want to participate in the conversation? Become a subscriber today. Subscribers can read and comment on any story, anytime. Non-subscribers will only be able to view comments on select stories.